Hosts Rwanda dominates 2017 Africa Para Taekwondo Open


Team ranking

1. Rwanda (2 gold, 3 silver, 1 bronze)

2. Spain (2 gold, 1 silver)

3. Uzbekistan (2 gold, 2 bronze)

Hosts and debutants Rwanda mastered their event as they dominated the second edition of Africa-Para Taekwondo Open that climaxed on Sunday evening at Amahoro Indoor Stadium. The three-day event started on Friday.

This year’s edition attracted a total of 15 countries including Rwanda after three countries namely; Niger, Austria and Mozambique pulled out from the event at the final minute.

Competing for the first in the continent’s biggest competition of martial artists with physical disabilities and impairments, Rwanda put on a good fight claiming a total of six medals in different categories hence finishing as the best team overall.

The six medals that Rwanda won included; 2 gold medals through Jean de la Croix Nikwigize in the K41 Male under-61kg category and Consolee Rukundo in the K42 Female under-58kg category. She was the only female on the 15-player team.


Rwanda Para-Taekwondo team celebrate after being crowned the overall best team of 2017 Africa Para-Taekwondo Open at Amahoro indoor stadium on Sunday.

Rukundo also won a silver medal in the K44 Female under-58kg before Jean Claude Niringiyimana scooping silver in the K44 Male under-61kg and team captain Jean Marie Vianney Bizumuremyi got Rwanda a third silver K42 Male under-61 kg.

Jean Pierre Manirakiza won a bronze in the K42 Male under-61kg to bring Rwanda’s medal tally to six ahead of Spain, who finished with three medals (2 gold and 1 silver) and Uzbekistan (2 gold and 2 bronze).

Spain’s medal came courtesy of Santana Santana Aythami in the K44 Male under-61kg and Gabriel Amado Garagarza in the K44 Male under-75kg while Alejandro Vidal Alvarez won them silver in the K43 Male under-61kg.

President of France Taekwondo Federation “Denis Odjo “

Uzbekistan finished third with four medals that included; 2 gold and 2 bronze.  Ziyodakhon Isakova took gold in the K44 Female under-49kg while Farkhodjon Mamaziyaev also won gold in K42 Male under-75kg.

Sarvarjon Bidjonov won them a bronze medal in the K44 Male over-75kg and Sanjarbek Muhtorov took another in the K42 Male under-61kg.

Results from participants from the African countries were counted towards the K40 G4 world ranking points while athletes from non-African countries earned points towards G2 world rankings.

The 15countries that competed in this year’s edition included; Ghana, Comoros, United States of America, Spain, France, Germany, Uzbekistan, Serbia, Nigeria, Lesotho, Morocco, DR Congo, Burundi and Ethiopia.


Rwanda Para-Taekwondo team pose with their medals and trophy after being crowned the overall best team of 2017 African Para-Taekwondo Open.

Full results


K44 Male under 61 kg

1. Aythami Santana Santana (Spain)

2. Jean Claude Niringiyimana (Rwanda)

3. Anouar Gaouzi France)

3. Emmanuel Karisa (Kenya)

K44 Male under 75 kg

1. Gabriel Amado Garagarza (Spain)

2. Nicola Spajic (Serbia)

3. Mohammed Aatif (Morocco)

3. Alain Akakpo (France)

K44 Male over 75 kg

1. Hasim Celik (Germany)

2. Corbin Stacy (USA)

3. Smith Anthony (USA)

3. Sarvarjon Obidjonov (Uzbekistan)


K44 Female under 49 kg

1. Isakova Ziyodakhon (Uzbekistan)

2. Es-Sabbar Soukaina (Morocco)

3. Backo Dejana (Serbia)

K44 Female under 58 kg

1. Faith Obayzuaye (Nigeria)

2. Consolee Rukundo (Rwanda)

K44 Female over 58 kg

1. Rajae Akermach (Morocco)

2. Schiel Laura (France)

3. Awudu Kubura (Ghana)

K43 Male under 61 kg

1. Kong Bopha (France)

2. Alejandro Vidal Alvarez (Spain)

K42 Male under 61 kg

1. Samson Ukpera (Nigeria)

2. Jean Marie Vianney Bizumuremyi (Rwanda)

3. Sanjarbek Muhtorov (Uzbekistan)

3. Jean Pierre Manirakiza (Rwanda)

K42 Male under 75 kg

1. Farkhodjon Mamaziyaev (Uzbekistan)

2. Klose Kalwira (DR Congo)

K41 Male under 61 kg

Jean de la Croix Nikwigize (Rwanda)

K41 Female under 49 kg

Dejana Backo (Serbia)

K42 Female under 58 kg

Consolee Rukundo (Rwanda)



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *